1,000 Paper Cranes: Preface

A few days ago, I was sitting in my room, feeling very single, when it hit me – a thousand paper cranes.

A belief exists that a person will be granted a wish if they fold one thousand origami cranes. Do I believe in such things? Not exactly. Am I skilled in origami? Not at all; in fact, origami is very difficult for me and will likely hurt my hands quite a bit. I don’t even really have the money for the paper.

So why?
Honestly, sometimes, beyond all reason, something just feels right.

So, I’m going to fold 1,000 paper cranes, and I will wish for love.
I don’t know how long it will take. I don’t know how much pain it will cause me. I don’t really expect anything to happen at the end of this all. I am curious how it will all turn out. What emotions will I go through? How much effort will I put in each day? Will I start believing? With I find the hope I’ve lost somewhere along the way? Will I change my wish at the end? Will I even finish?

Only time will tell.

It all starts tomorrow (today)!

Leave a comment