I feel like I should say something, though I don’t know what it would be. Let’s find out together, shall we?

I’m happy, but I’m tired.

I have to dam the clear, sweet water that threatens to pour so easily.

I want to let it stream.

As my heart flutters, races, and pounds, I want to let the flood overtake me. I want it to carry me swiftly between the rocks, under limbs, past all the creatures living their lives.

I want it to slow and allow me to float, watching the sky, making stories of the clouds and the birds flying by.

I want to let it flow.

But it must be held back, for it was once laced with poison. It cannot be trusted so easily. It would only block their way.

I alone may witness its sparkling beauty. I alone may witness its growth. I must be the one to take responsibility – for what it was, what it is, and what it ever will be.

Sometimes I feel disheartened. Sometimes I feel sore.

But I will not waver.

Even if the time never comes to set it free,

I will not stray…

It is too important to me.

Leave a comment